Saturday, December 8, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Kumho Art Hall Yonsei
50 Yonsei University Baekyang Nuri B1 Yonsei
Seodaemun-gu, Seoul 03722

Beethoven: Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, op. 16 (1796)
Gloria Chien, piano; Bella Hristova, violin; Mark Holloway, viola; Nicholas Canellakis, cello

Mozart: Clarinet Quintet in A Major, K. 581 (1789)
Anthony McGill, clarinet; Arnaud Sussmann, Bella Hristova, violins; Mark Holloway, viola; Nicholas Canellakis, cello

Mendelssohn: Piano Trio no. 2 in c minor, op. 66 (1845)
Wu Han, piano; Arnaud Sussmann, violin; David Finckel, cello


Notes on the Program

The 2018 Chamber Music Today season opens with masterworks by three pioneering giants of the Germanic and Austrian traditions: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Felix Mendelssohn, and Ludwig van Beethoven, whose Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, op. 16 commences the program. Though Beethoven’s Opus 16 was originally composed for piano and winds (and was likely directly inspired by Mozart’s K. 452 Quintet, also scored for piano and winds and in the same key of E-flat), Beethoven subsequently arranged the piece for the traditional piano quartet ensemble, as it is featured in this program. Indeed, in 1792, a year after Mozart’s death, a young Beethoven, still living in the shadow of the Classical masters Haydn and Mozart, traveled from his home in Germany to Vienna to “… receive Mozart’s spirits through Haydn’s hands” through his studies with the latter composer. Composed less than ten years before Beethoven’s Opus 16, Mozart’s A major Clarinet Quintet, K. 581 follows, a delightful piece that occupies a hallowed space both in Mozart’s incredibly extensive oeuvre as well as more generally in the clarinet repertoire. Beethoven’s middle and late period compositions would herald the dawn of the Romantic tradition, and younger German composers such as Felix Mendelssohn, whose impassioned Second Piano Trio closes the program, would go on to carry the torch of Romanticism through the nineteenth century.